Song 1980-12: Smokey Robinson, “Crusin'”

One of the things I love most about the ’80s is that everyone was invited to the party. Case in point: Smokey Robinson, who could have easily been written off in the early ’70s  by radio programmers and record buyers when he went solo from The Miracles and wasn’t releasing any top 10 hits, found his way onto the charts during our favorite decade. “Cruisin'” reached #4 in 1980. He would go on to have several other big hits in the decade, and I’ll  be talking about those when they roll around in this blog.

Confession: I don’t remember hearing this song growing up, so when Huey Lewis recorded the song with Gwyneth Paltrow and released their version in 2000 I thought it was a brand new song. Not a new single for radio; a new song altogether.

Confession two: I have a bad memory of things from my youth. I’m told it’s due to a bike accident I had in high school. I’m not sure if that’s really the reason, but it makes people feel sorry for me and they typically give me a free pass for having a bad memory.

Don’t judge me.

Memorable lyric: “And if you want it you got it forever. This is not a one night stand, baby.”

Published by

csammond

Connections pastor. On-air personality. Chart geek.

Leave a Reply

