Song 1980-15: Dr. Hook, “Better Love Next Time”

Dr. Hook was declining in popularity by the time the ’80s rolled around, but “Better Love Next Time” got as high as #12 on the HOT 100 chart in 1980. They would go on to have a few more charting songs in the ’80s, including a top 10 single.

I have a strange attachment to this band. I could swear that when I was growing up I occasionally wore an eye patch, just like one of the members of Dr. Hook does. I didn’t want to wear it but my eye doctor (and thus my parents) made me wear it. Then came that fateful day when I saw Dr. Hook on television. I saw the eye patch dude and thought to myself, “Hey, that guy wears an eye patch and he’s famous! Maybe this ‘aint so bad after all!” Needless to say I got over that pretty quick.

I don’t think I have any pictures to prove the eye patch theory, so you’re going to have to just trust me on that one. Shortly after, I began to wear glasses.

I have PLENTY of dorky-looking pictures to prove that.

Memorable lyric: “Sometimes you lose but you’re gonna win if you just, if you just keep hanging in.”

Published by

csammond

Connections pastor. On-air personality. Chart geek.

Leave a Reply

