Song 1980-22: Tom Petty and The Heartbreakers, “Don’t Do Me Like That”

Tom Petty took this break-up song to #10, becoming his first top 10 song. I’ve come to believe that Tom Petty is an “all or nothing” artist. You either like him or you don’t. When I talk to friends about Mr. Petty I either get, “I love that guy!” or “I hate him!” I’m pretty sure they’re referring to his voice and not his character. I mean, what has he done to these folks to deserve such a bad rap?

I’ll give you this much: He’s got some songs that I love to listen to such as his duet with Stevie Nicks (coming later) and his single “The Waiting” (also coming later).

This song ended up becoming the #64 song of 1980.

Memorable lyric: “Then he said, ‘You better watch your step or you’re gonna get hurt yourself. Someone’s gonna tell you lies and cut you down to size.'”

Published by

csammond

Connections pastor. On-air personality. Chart geek.

Leave a Reply

