Song 1980-28: Foghat, “Third Time Lucky”

Fought’s only top 40 single in the ’80s, “Third Time Lucky” (also known as “First Time I Was a Fool”) reached #23 in 1980. Of their entire career, this one is second best only to their 1975 classic “Slow Ride.” It was released off their 1979 album Boogie Motel.

Memorable lyric: “First love I had I was seventeen and I was younger. Love to us was some kind of game and all my letters said I would never forget her. Now I can’t recall her name.”

Published by

csammond

Connections pastor. On-air personality. Chart geek.

Leave a Reply

