Song 1980-39: Rita Coolidge, “I’d Rather Leave While I’m in Love”

Ah yes, the soft rock stylings of Rita Coolidge.

Though she found her biggest success in 1977 with her #2 single “(Your Love Has Lifted Me) Higher and Higher,” Rita appeared on the HOT 100 in the ’80s four times. One of those songs, “I’d Rather Leave While I’m in Love,” peaked at #38 in 1980.


Memorable lyric: “So if you wake and find me gone, oh baby carry on. You see I need my fantasy.”

Published by

csammond

Connections pastor. On-air personality. Chart geek.

Leave a Reply

