#1980-62: The Spinners, “Working My Way Back to You / Forgive Me, Girl”

Here’s the first medley to appear on the HOT 100 in the ’80s. It seamlessly combines The Four Season’s top ten hit “Working My Way Back to You” and a lesser-known song “Forgive Me, Girl.” Growing up I never realized this was a medley of two songs. The “Forgive Me, Girl” section always sounded to me like a bridge, and is a very short part of the overall song anyhow.

The song peaked at #2 in  and ended up the overall #14 song of 1980. Not sure if they planned it this way, but the song was so successful that The Spinners released another medley as a follow-up (see #1980-263).


Memorable lyric: “I used to love to make you cry. It made me feel like a man inside. But if I’d been a man in reality you’d still be here, babe, loving me.”

Published by

csammond

Connections pastor. On-air personality. Chart geek.

Leave a Reply

