#1980-65: Pat Benatar, “Heartbreaker”

To this day I swear my high school math teacher was Pat Benatar: I recall thinking just that every day when I went to Ms. Apollo’s class.   I felt she looked just like the superstar singer and figured this “Apollo” moniker was just a ruse to keep the student body from finding out her true identity.  She knew I was a music student and shared with me that her husband was a guitarist. At least that’s the way I remember it. How fitting, seeing how Pat Benatar’s husband was her guitarist in the band. I loved my math classes. I could never get beyond Geometry but I loved my math classes.

Released in late 1979, “Heartbreaker” rose to #23 in early 1980. Her first HOT 100 entry, it is certainly one of her signature songs. The song was the beginning of an incredible ride for Benatar and ’80s music lovers. Benatar ended up with 17 HOT 100 hits in the ’80s with 15 of them reaching the top 40, so needless to say I’ll be talking more about her as the blog goes on.

Ms. Apollo if you’re out there, know that your secret’s safe with me.


Memorable lyric: “You’re the right kind of dreamer to release my inner fantasy. The invincible winner and you know that you were born to be. You’re a heartbreaker.”

Published by

csammond

Connections pastor. On-air personality. Chart geek.

Leave a Reply

